Driving Licence Classes in Uganda

There are 14 classes of driving licence in Uganda. Each class has its own requirements when it comes to obtaining it. The applicant is subjected to a driver’s test, and upon fulfilling both the theory and practical exams, one is awarded a particular class corresponding with the vehicle tested for.

Apart from a learners driving licence which anyone aged 18 years plus qualifies for, all other classes have minimum set of requirements including the age of the applicant, and the number of years ever since one acquired a driver licence.

For example, one can only qualify for C class after driving for a minimum of 3 years from the date of first issue of the driver licence, in additionally to being aged 25 years and above. This means that even if you have been a driver for 3 years but not yet aged 25 years, one can not qualify for class C from B.

Types of driving licence classes in Uganda

  • A1
  • A
  • B1
  • B
  • BE
  • C1
  • C1E
  • C
  • CE
  • D1
  • D1E
  • D
  • DE
  • G

Obtaining the different classes of driver licence

In order to qualify for any of the classes above, a learners / provisional drivers licence must be obtained from UDLS. And for those who already have a licence and want to make a class extension, a copy of your current licence must be stamped on by the Police IOV.

In order to apply for an extension of any of the classes above, a testing fees URA Payment PRN is required since it must be presented at the testing center (Police IOV) together with a certificate of completion and a copy of the current license. Later, the application is processed.

Related Posts

3 thoughts on “Driving Licence Classes in Uganda

Leave a Reply